Best of 2012 | Weddings

I had the honor of photographing 9 weddings in 2012 all around Virginia from Galax to Smith Mountain Lake. Here’s a look back to my favorite wedding photos from last year…

Nelson and Brittany’s backyard wedding in Galax, Virginia – The bride and groom did a “first look” (saw each other before the wedding ceremony) to exchange gifts in the fern-filled woods behind Brittany’s parents house.  I also did some bridal portraits for Brittany earlier in the year in Floyd, my hometown.

Matt and Sheena at the German Club at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg – I was madly in love with the garden roses Sheena’s floral arrangements.  Matt and Sheena had a sparkler send off which was a first for me!

Michael and Sarah at the Hahn Horticulture Garden at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg – The bride and groom chose to have a short ceremony followed by brunch in lieu of a full day celebration.  How gorgeous is Sarah’s Vera Wang dress?  She looks like a Greek goddess.

David and Margarita at the Hahn Horticulture Garden at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg – On the first day I met Margarita and David at Panera, I could tell they were madly in love.  Since they were down from Maryland, we hurried off to the Oaks Victorian Inn for some engagement photos.  A couple highlights from their wedding day were that they played The Beatles during the ceremony and the wild party they had on the dance floor at the reception, I’ve never seen so much dancing a wedding before!

Trampus and Kayla at Bernard’s Landing on Smith Mountain Lake – This wedding took place right beside Smith Mountain Lake and a pool (where the entire wedding party ended up before the night was over).

Blake and Karri at Nesselrod on the New in Radford – This was my only wedding for the year for other Christansburg High School alumni, Karri and I graduated together in 2003.  This was the first time I have visited Nesselrod, the bed and breakfast is so beautiful.

Scott and Sarah at Mountain Lake Hotel – Back in fall of 2011 I took some engagement photos for Scott and Sarah on the Blue Ridge Parkway so I was excited to hear from them in the spring about photographing their wedding.

Michael and Christine at Smithfield Plantation in Blacksburg – This was my last wedding of 2012, I love the beautiful fall colors.  We were fortunate enough to catch some Revolutionary War re-enactors at Smithfield Plantation before the ceremony which made for some really fun photos.  This is the only wedding I’ve been to where a dog was part of the bridal party!

Brett and Emily at the Boxtree Lodge in Vinton – This was the first wedding I shot entirely on 35mm film and also the first time that I shot a stop-motion video.  Emily and I got really close throughout her engagement, she even made a new logo for me that’s up on my website already.  She was also my first official bridal boudoir photo session!



It took me a really long time to put this blog post together so if you have made it all the way to the end then you get a gold star and my deepest appreciation! I hope that I am blessed with just as many amazing, sweet, beautiful couples in 2013 as I was last year.

5 thoughts on “Best of 2012 | Weddings

  1. Pingback: Best of 2012 | Engagement Sessions | Holly Cromer

  2. Pingback: The Sweetest Wedding Photography Special of All Time + a Complementary Wedding Photo Booth! | Holly Cromer

Leave some love...

